Lady Lever Art Gallery – Port Sunlight
Opened in 1922, the grade II listed Lady Lever Art Gallery (part of National Museums Liverpool) lies in the conservation area of Port Sunlight Village.
Clan Contracting carried out a £2.8 million large-scale restoration project to the south end of the museum which included replacing the dated South doors. The heavy wooden doors were to be replaced with modern glass double doors which would open out onto a spectacular view of the fountain, rose gardens and Port Sunlight war memorial. The doors were carefully designed to remain in keeping with the buildings historical, iconic design which involved concealing the aluminium frame to give maximum views across the fountain. The glass doors were etched specifically to match the existing, traditional wooden and glass detailing featured above the doors which resulted in a seamless transition from old to new.